Lemon gnocchi – Part I: The prep work

21 02 2008

Today I attempted the Food and Wine Meyer lemon gnocchi recipe, although I’ll just call my recipe lemon gnocchi since I didn’t use Meyer lemons.

It was a little tricky to make the recipe, because I didn’t really have any idea of what the dough should look like. I followed the directions carefully and had to improvise occassionally (example: I don’t have a potato ricer, so I used a fork to get a similar consistency).

Making the dough was actually easier than I anticipated, and the only challenging part was getting that gnocchi shape. I think I did a decent job; I’m just hoping they don’t all unroll when I pop them in the boiling water tonight!

The Food and Wine recipe wasn’t really clear on how to get the ridges in the pasta. They simply said to, “Roll each piece against the tines of a fork to make ridges.” Huh? I had to do a quick Google search to find some pictures on how exactly to do that, and I think my attempts were pretty good for my first try.

Here are a couple pictures of the raw gnocchi before their plunge into the bubbling water.

Actions

Information

One response

25 02 2008
Lisa

These look awesome, I’m definitely going to try to make this soon. I hope mine come out as good as yours look! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

