Chocolate Rocks

22 02 2008

I saw a picture of these cookies in O Magazine before I actually read the name of the recipe.  The picture of the cookies looked super yummy, but the name?!  Chocolate rocks?  They sound like something that would break your teeth and/or sink to the bottom of your belly if you ate one.  Name aside, I decided to try the recipe because: a) I love cookies, b) I especially love oatmeal in cookies, and c) I thought these would be quick and easy (I was right).

On to making the dough!  First, I realized that I should have read through the entire recipe before beginning.  It says to preheat your oven to 375 degrees and prepare the dough, and then it says to refrigerate the dough for 30-60 minutes before baking.  Needless to say, I wish I hadn’t started the oven, turned it off, and then started it all over again 40 minutes later.  Oh well.  Lesson learned – read the entire recipe before beginning!

 The recipe was super easy, and the dough came out incredibly hearty, as I suspected, and super tasty.  Here’s a picture:

 

I kept the dough in the fridge between batches, and I think they turned out pretty well.  They may not look pretty, but they sure do taste good.  They’re definitely heartier than your average chocolate chip cookies thanks to the mix of chocolate chips, oatmeal, and raisins.  I also subbed pecans for walnuts and used white flour instead of whole wheat flour, only because that’s what was already in the pantry. 

The result:

And an extreme close-up:

Verdict: The cookies were really good when they first came out of the oven and were warm and gooey, but they weren’t as good when they cooled down.  I think a quick pop in the microwave prior to eating might make these a bit better. 

Chocolate “Rocks”
O Magazine, March 2008

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
8 Tbsp. (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup apple butter
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup walnut pieces
3/4 cup raisins

 1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Position racks in upper and lower thirds of oven.  In a large bowl, combine flour, oats, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.  In a medium saucepan, melt butter over medium heat.  Remove from heat; stir in brown sugar.  Stir in apple butter, eggs, and vanilla.  Add flour mixture; stir until well combined.  Stir in chocolate chips, walnuts, and raisins.  Return dough to bowl, cover, and refrigerate until firm, 30 minutes to an hour.

2. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.  Drop dough by rounded soup-spoonfuls about 1 inch apart.  Back 13 to 15 minutes, rotating pans halfway through cooking, until bottoms of cookies are golden brown.  Immediately transfer cookies to racks to cool.  Store in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 02 2008
Mom F.

These look yummy, Denise! I might try making them with the whole wheat flour and Splenda brown sugar. Of course, I won’t be able to substitute the butter or else they WILL be like rocks…lol.

24 02 2008
Jesi

You “rock” girl! Everything looks delicious and so fancy! When I’m out in Rochester you will have teach me some of your tips! 🙂

Leave a Reply

