My first lasagna!

25 02 2008

I was flipping through recipes and searching for inspiration online this morning, and I came across more than one picture of lasagna. My mouth started watering, and I knew that lasagna should be my next recipe-to-be-blogged!

As I searched for the perfect lasagna recipe, I started reminiscing about my mom’s cooking from when I was a little girl. I used to hate ricotta cheese, and she used to make me my own separate lasagna with just mozzarella cheese instead. That’s love!

As I got older, I grew to love Mom’s original version of lasagna, complete with ricotta, mozzarella, and her homemade meatballs, sliced between the layers. Yum.

I would have loved to attempt Mom’s recipe, but I didn’t want to spend hours in the kitchen today. Still, my lasagna craving ensued. After reading another food blog (Annie’s Eats), I decided to try her recipe from allrecipes.com. The recipe didn’t look too complicated, and I figured I could whip up the lasagna without a problem. With some Italian bread with oil for dipping, I thought it sounded like the perfect Sunday meal.

I didn’t want to have to eat lasagna for the next week, so I cut the recipe in half and did a little improvising along the way. I ended up using a lot less mozzarella and more spinach than what the recipe called for. I also skipped the onions and added some garlic powder to the sauce.

Here are some pictures:

Overall: Lasagna success! I’m not sure why I was intimidated to make it, because I figured out that lasagna is pretty easy and very forgiving. I think I’ll play around with some of the layers next time and try some more veggies if Brett will let me get away with it!

Deep Dish Lasagna
From allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

12 lasagna noodles
1 lb. Italian sausage
2/3 cup chopped onion
½ tbsp. minced garlic
2/3 cup chopped parsley
3 cans tomato paste
15 oz. tomato sauce
2 cups water
1 ½ tsp. Italian seasoning
1 ½ tsp. basil
1 ½ tsp. oregano
1 lb. part-skim ricotta
10 oz. frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
½ cup parmesan cheese
3 eggs
2 tsp. garlic salt
¼ tsp. pepper
3 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:Cook lasagna noodles according to package directions. Brown sausage with onions, garlic and half the parsley. Add tomato paste, tomato sauce, water, Italian seasoning, oregano and basil. Simmer for 5 minutes. In a bowl, combine remaining parsley, ricotta, spinach, parmesan, eggs, garlic, S&P. In a 9×13” baking dish, spread 2 cups of sauce. Begin layering with 4 noodles, half of the cheese mixture, a third of the remaining sauce and one cup of mozzarella. Repeat. The last layer will be noodles, sauce and mozzarella. Bake, covered at 350° for 45 minutes and then uncovered for 10 minutes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

