Salmon cakes

28 02 2008

We eat salmon about once a week, and we usually end up preparing it the same way every time.  We rub some spices or garlic on it and broil it, and then we pair it with some rice –  a quick and easy weeknight dinner.  We’ve tried some actual salmon recipes that we use when we want to change things up a bit, but we’re usually too uninspired to try something new on, say, a Wednesday night.

Well, today I decided that I wanted to make salmon, but I wanted to make something new and semi-special since… Our offer was accepted on our first home today!  WOOOO! 

Enter Rachael Ray.  On my lunch break, I quickly went to www.rachaelraymag.com and typed “salmon” into the search feature on her site.  I found the recipe for salmon cakes and decided they would be perfect for tonight.  (P.S. I LOVE crab cakes but had never had salmon cakes.)

I made the recipe in two parts, and it worked out perfectly.  After work, I prepped the salmon and then refrigerated it until later (it ended up being 3 hours later!), because we were off to work out and then sign some paperwork for the house.  (YAY for our new house!!!)  When I got home, I formed the patties, followed the rest of the recipe, and pan seared them in our cast iron skillet. 

The result?  A new favorite recipe!  I can’t wait to try this for guests soon.

 

I did tweak the recipe a bit by skipping the scallions and celery and using regular bread crumbs instead of the Japanese version.  I also used fresh salmon instead of pre-made, because I wanted to use the salmon that we already had in the fridge.   I cut the recipe in half, and I didn’t make the sauce.  Instead, I served our salmon cakes on rice with some salad greens on the side. 

Fun note: Brett said these salmon cakes were “fantastic.”  We both loved them = double success!

Salmon cakes
Everyday with Rachael Ray

Serves 4

1 1/2 pounds store-bought cooked salmon fillet, chilled and skinned
3 cups panko (Japanese bread crumbs)
6 scallions, green and white parts chopped separately
2 small ribs celery, finely chopped
1/4 cup chopped flat leaf parsley
2/3 cup mayonnaise plus 1/2 cup mayonnaise
salt and black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
4 large eggs, beaten
6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar

1. Flake the salmon into a large bowl.  Using a fork, mix in half cup panko, the scallion whites, the celery, the parsley, 2/3 cup mayonnaise, 1/2 teaspoon salt, a pinch black pepper, and the cayenne.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

2. Form the mixture into 8 patties about 1 inch thick.  In a bowl, mix the remaining 2 1/2 cups panko with 1 teaspoon salt.  Coat the patties with the panko, then the eggs, then the panko again.

3. In a skillet, heat half of the olive oil over medium heat.  Add 4 salmon patties and cook until golden, about 3 minutes on each side.  Drain on paper towels.  Repeat with the remaining oil and patties. 

4. Combine the remaining 1/2 cup mayonnaise, the vinegar and 1/3 cup scallion greens; season with salt and pepper.  Serve two cakes per person with the sauce alongside.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 02 2008
Mom F

Even though I’m not a huge salmon fan, these look delicious. Maybe I should try some new recipes, too. Congrats on the new house!!

9 04 2008
Janelle

Remember we’re coming next week. We’d be the PERFECT guests to guinnea pig these 🙂

Leave a Reply

