Aunt Marion’s Pumpkin Bread

7 03 2008

I grew up eating Aunt Marion’s delicious pumpkin bread.  She used to wrap her loaves in foil and give them to family members, all of whom would gobble them up in a day or two.  We used to hide the last piece or two or call dibs on the final bites, because we never knew when we would be spoiled with another loaf! 

Tonight I attempted to make the famous pumpkin bread for the first time, but I stupidly forgot to set the timer when I slid them into the oven.  Ugh!  I think I ended up leaving them in for just a few minutes too long, even though I obsessively checked them in the final minutes (or so I thought).  The outside has the slightest crisp to it, and I like the bread the way Aunt Marion makes it – moist throughout without a crisp spot to be found.  I’ll definitely try the recipe again, but I’ll be more careful and actually set the timer next time!

My results weren’t awful, but I want to try again soon. 

Aunt Marion’s Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:3 1/2 cups flour
3 cups sugar
30 oz. can of pumpkin pie mix
1 cup oil
1 tsp. cinnamon
4 eggs
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking soda
1 cup nuts
1/2 cup raisins

Directions:

1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.  Let rise 30 minutes.

2. Grease container (coffee cans, small or large loaf pans) and fill 3/4 way.  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment