Buttermilk Biscuits

9 03 2008

I had a lot of leftover buttermilk in the fridge after making cookies last week, and it occurred to me that buttermilk biscuits would be the perfect thing to make.  I searched online for buttermilk biscuit recipes, and most that I found required shortening, but I don’t have any.  A storm was raging outside today (still is!), and I didn’t feel like braving the snow, freezing rain, sleet, and ice for the third time today.  Ah, upstate NY.  If this is the lion part of March, I am realllllly looking forward to the lamb.  🙂 

Anyway… I kept searching and ultimately came across a recipe on epicurious.com.  I had all the ingredients, so I whipped them up and hoped for the best.  We ended up loving them, and I think this will be a great go-to recipe to accompany lots of different meals. 

Buttermilk Biscuits
epicurious.com

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
4 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/4 inch pieces
1 cup buttermilk

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda in large bowl to blend. 

2. Using fingertips, rub 3/4 cup chilled butter into dry ingredients until mixture resembles coarse meal.  Add buttermilk and stir until evenly moistened.

3. Using 1/4 cup dough for each biscuit, drop biscuits onto baking sheet, spacing 2 inches apart.  Bake until biscuits are golden brown on top, about 15 minutes.  Cool slightly.  Serve warm. 

Makes 12 servings.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

