Turkey meatballs

9 03 2008

Brett and I really like spaghetti and meatballs, mostly because it’s one of those quick go-to weeknight meals.  I decided that the frozen turkey meatballs that we usually buy could be improved upon for sure – as in, if I make my own, they’re bound to be much better than something that has been frozen for x amount of time.

When I was flipping through my Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook, I came across a yummy sounding turkey meatball recipe.  I premade this for a weeknight meal this week, so we haven’t technically had them as a meal yet, but YUM!  The one that I snagged right out of the oven was fantastic!  The best part?  They’re healthy and low cal.  Fabulous.

The recipe also suggests that you slice them when they’re cold and put them in a pita for lunch.  Sounds good to me!

Meatballs
Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook by Tosca Reno

Serves: 6

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs. lean ground turkey or chicken
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 cup breadcrumbs
2 T. fresh parsley, finely chopped
2 T. fresh basil, finely chopped
2 T. fresh oregano, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, passed through a garlic press
1 tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. In a large bowl, place egg and breadcrumbs or oat bran.  Add spices and mix well.  Add remaining ingredients and mix well.  Using an ice cream scoop make meatballs and place on prepared cookie sheet.  Place in hot oven and bake for 20 minutes or until golden.

Nutritional facts per serving:

Calories: 170 – Calories from fat: 24 – Protein: 30g – Carbs: 11g – Dietary fiber: 2g – Sugars: 0.8g – Fat: 2g – Sodium: 327mg

* My changes: I skipped the onions and used dried oregano instead of fresh, but I reduced it to 1 tablespoon.  Also, I reduced the amount of pepper to 1/2 tsp. *

Actions

Information

5 responses

14 03 2008
spkr602

I’m going to try these out the next time I make meatballs. They look really yummy!

19 08 2008
Fitzalan

Glad I found this recipe. I am going to make these tonight! Thanks!

sweets&sweats.wordpress.com

5 06 2009
Lisa

Just tried this recipe and IT WAS THA BOMB!!! lol I am so glad you posted this great recipe!!! Thank you

27 07 2009
smcb

I stumbled upon this blog specifically because I was looking for this recipe. I have the cookbook and have made, and loved, these a couple times but don’t have my cookbook with me. Thank you! Try the recipe with all the spices next time — it’s not too much. I subbed egg white for the egg with yolk. Have tried both ground turkey thigh meat and turkey breast. Both work great.

23 09 2009
Caroline

I too found your blog because I was looking for this recipe. This dish is easy to make + stash in the freezer. Then for a quick, healthy meal I just throw them in the steamer a few minutes before steaming some vegetables. They taste delicious:
-with avocado, sea salt + broccoli
-with tomato sauce + mozzarella cheese

Leave a Reply

