Minestrone Soup

18 03 2008

There’s no real story behind this one.  I just felt like making soup, and Sundays are the perfect days to use my slow cooker – I just throw the ingredients in and spend the rest of the day being productive (or lazy, as the case was this past Sunday!).  Some of my wonderful colleagues gave me a slow cooker and recipe book for a bridal shower gift, so this is a huge thank you to them!  I especially loved the cayenne pepper in the recipe, because it gave the soup just a hint of a kick.  (And trust me – I am not a spicy food loving girl.)

(FYI: I had no picture taking patience since Sunday was also the day that the flu crept up on me and then smacked me in the face.  I’m sloooowly recovering.)

Old-World Minestrone with Shell Pasta
Complete Slow Cooker Cookbook by Carol Heding Munson

 Ingredients:

1 carrot, shredded
1 celery stalk, sliced
1/4 cup frozen peas
1 medium potato, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
2/3 sliced scallions
2 cans (14 oz. each) fat free chicken or vegetable broth
1 tsp. Italian herb seasoning or marjoram
1 can (28 oz.) Italian plum tomatoes, cut up
Pinch of cayenne pepper
1 T. red wine vinegar
1 cup chopped escarole
1/2 cup shell pasta
1/2 cup snipped fresh parsley
Parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

1. Combine the carrots, celery, peas, potatoes, scallions, broth, seasoning, tomatoes, pepper, and vinegar in the crockery pot.  Cover and cook on LOW for 6 to 8 hours or on HIGH for 4 to 5 hours.

2. During the last 20 minutes of cooking, stir in the escarole and pasta.  Divide the soup among four bowls and top each serving with the parsley and cheese, if you wish.

*** My take: Honestly, I didn’t measure things very carefully when I made this.  I just added what felt right to me, and I used what we had in the pantry already.  It came out perfectly. Gotta love foolproof recipes. ***

Actions

Information

One response

20 03 2008
mjpuzzlemom

This looks great! Thaks for sharng.. I have a ton of crocpot recipes on my site!

MJ

Leave a Reply

