Corn bread

29 03 2008

I threw together some chili for a quick midweek meal this week, and Brett wasn’t due to come home for another 30 minutes or so.  I remembered that I had some cornmeal in the pantry – a recent purchase after discovering how much I like pizza dough rolled in cornmeal before baking – and I saw that there was a corn bread recipe on the back.  I’ve never actually made corn bread from scratch, so I figured I’d give it a shot since I had time to kill anyway.

 I ended up being pretty disappointed with this recipe.  The corn bread came out dense and not very flavorful.  I’m surprised it’s the featured recipe on the package.  I definitely won’t make it again, but I’ll be on the hunt for a tastier recipe.

With a review like that, I’m not sure why you would want the recipe, but I’ll include it anyway.  Stay tuned for my second attempt at delicious corn bread!

Easy Corn Bread
Quaker

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup Quaker Enriched Corn Meal
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt (optional)
1 cup skim milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs whites or 1 egg, beaten

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease 8 or 9-inch pan.  Combine dry ingredients.  Stir in milk, oil and egg, mixing just until dry ingredients are moistened.  Pour batter into prepared pan.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until light golden brown and wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Serve warm. 

9 servings

Actions

Information

One response

5 04 2008
Katie

You should get Jean VV’s recipe for cornbread. SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

