A very happy Tuesday with a funny story

9 04 2008

Today was a great day at work.  The weather was beautiful – 70 degrees and sunny! – and my kindergarteners were absolutely wonderful.  They worked hard and made me laugh all day.  Here’s a funny kindergarten tidbit for you:

One of my students, we’ll call her “A”, was having trouble pumping her legs on the swings.  The other girls were all soaring, and she jumped off the swing and started wimpering because she felt so defeated.  “A” is incredibly bright, and this is truly the first thing that has been difficult for her all year. 

I went over to her and then encouraged her to get back on the swing so that I could do a little coaching.  She started to get the hang of it a bit, and she was giggling and laughing with glee at her success.  She then said to me, and I quote, “If it’s Sunday or Saturday or even Monday, it doesn’t matter!  Call my mom if you hear that there’s going to be swinging lessons, because I REALLY need them.”  Hahahahahaha!  I sure do love kindergarteners.

I just had to tell this story so that you could get a feel for my day.  It was a fun, happy day at school, and that continued when I got home, went for a run, and then got ready to make salmon.  Remember how I mentioned that we love salmon?  (Check out the salmon cakes recipe.)

I wanted to try something new tonight, so I went to the WC message board (on thenest.com) and asked my fellow food bloggers to post their best recipes.  A few girls came through for me (thank you!), and I decided to make the recipe from the creator of www.bellalately.blogspot.com

It was a great recipe, and I loved the sauce.  So much so that I poured it on my rice, too.  So good. 

Salmon with White Wine Mustard Sauce
from previously mentioned blog

1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. black pepper
4 (6 oz.) salmon fillets
1 T. butter
3 T. minced shallots
2 T. dry white wine
3/4 c. low sodium chicken broth
1 T. dijon mustard
3/4 tsp. corn starch
4 tsp. fresh minced tarragon – I used dried tarragon.

Directions:

1. Season fish with salt and pepper.  Melt 1-1/2 tsp. butter in large nonstick skillet over medium high heat.  Add fish and cook for 7 minutes on each side, or until fish flakes easily with fork.  Remove from skillet.  Keep warm.

2. Melt 1-1/2 tsp. remaining butter in skillet over medium heat.  Add shallots and saute for 1 minute.  Add wine.  Cook for 30 seconds. 

3. Combine 1/8 tsp. salt, broth, mustard, and corn starch with whisk.  Add to skillet, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, and simmer until reduced to 3/4 cup (approx. 1 minute). 

4. Spoon sauce over fish and sprinkle with tarragon.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 04 2008
Ally

What a cutie! And that salmon looks great!

9 04 2008
jamaicamama

I am so glad this recipe worked out for you- it looks beautiful!
Good job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

