Oh sweet goodness

11 04 2008

I felt like making cookies tonight, and I wanted to try something new.  I also wanted to try a lower calorie cookie recipe since I’m trying to lose a few pounds before race day.  I googled “lower calorie oatmeal cookie recipe” and had low expectations.  I found a recipe at cooks.com and thought I’d try it out for kicks.

And THEN I decided to just sort of wing it.  I used the cooks.com recipe as the base, but I added what I thought would make the recipe even better – Splenda brown sugar blend to sweeten it up a bit (is 1 T. of honey really enough to sweeten an entire batch of cookies?), some Granny Smith apple pieces, and some chocolate chips. 

MIraculously, the cookies came out amazingly good!  They’re soft with just the right amount of sweetness, and the combination of the semisweet chocolate chips with the tart apples is heavenly. 

I didn’t want to take a picture of the outside of this ordinary-looking cookie, so I broke one open and photographed that instead.  DELICIOUS.

Confession: These cookies were so good that I literally couldn’t control myself while I was taking the pictures.  I snuck a bite and decided to just take a picture with my hand in it.  And I am not ashamed, because that bite of cookie was absolutely worth it. 

Oatmeal Cookies with Apple and Chocolate Chips
Adapated from a cooks.com recipe

1-1/2 cups quick cooking oatmeal – I used regular oats.
2/3 cup butter, melted
2 eggs beaten
1 T. honey
1-1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 cup lowfat milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 cup Splenda brown sugar mix
1/2 cup diced apples – I used Granny Smith.
1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

1. Measure oatmeal into mixing bowl.  Stir in melted butter, mixing well.  Blend in combined eggs and honey. 

2. Add sifted dry ingredients.  Add milk and vanilla. 

3. Stir in Splenda brown sugar blend.  Mix in apple pieces and chocolate chips. 

4. Drop the dough onto parchment-lined baking sheet.  Bake at 400 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes or until golden brown.

5. Pour yourself a glass of milk and DIG IN. 

Actions

Information

One response

11 04 2008
gaga in the kitchen

wow, healthy and indulgent at the same time! i definitely have to try this. i had no idea splenda made a brown sugar substitute, i’ll have to keep an eye out for it. thanks!

Leave a Reply

